NAACP Annual Scholarship Breakfast

May 18, 2021


The Portage County Chapter of the NAACP hosted the annual scholarship breakfast on May 15, 2021 at Ravenna High School.  The co-sponsors were Kent State University and the Deseree Liddell Scholarship Fund.  Dr. Geraldine Hayes Nelson, President of the Portage County Chapter of the NAACP, led the celebration.  Ms. Brianna Boykin was the guest speaker and encouraged the scholars to make the most of their time at the university of their choice.  Six students were presented with scholarship money to the university of their choice and all students were given money to buy books or a computer.  After the scholarships were presented, the celebration moved outside for a parade of scholars led by the Ravenna Police Department and the State Highway Patrol.  The following students graciously accepted scholarships from the NAACP.

Tyonna Caples – Ravenna High School
Jade Coates – Windham High School
Olivia Gallardo – Roosevelt High School
Zakya Jones – Ravenna High School
Breanna Larkin – Ravenna High School
Joitashe Miller – Ravenna High School

Related Information

A Magical Holiday Event!

A Magical Holiday Event!

Our students were treated to a special holiday event in the gym right before break! They were able to make a fun holiday craft, enjoy some cookies and milk, and visit with Santa and Mrs. Claus! Our kids were so excited to see Santa. This was such a fun event and great...